UPDATING YOUR SPECIFICATION IN NEXTGEN2
The Masterspec system warns you if there are updates or changes to the Masterspec Sections in the project your are creating or working on. These changes can be triggered by changes to the New Zealand Building Code, New Zealand Standards, changes to industry Codes of Practice or changes to the product details in Branded Worksections.

As a general guide all worksections that are changed are identified on the right hand panel on your home page when you log in. However, to save you going through all of them, the changed sections are flagged when you open each specification. Out of date work sections or Office Masters are easily recognized - the main work area panel will display this large graphic, and each work section with updates will display the warning icon in the workflow list. You then have the option to view the changes, or run the update manager.

IDENTIFYING CHANGED WORKSECTIONS


When you open a specification you are working on there are two ways the NextGen2 system notifies you of changes. Firstly a large orange "Masterspec updates available" box will appear at the top of the centre panel.













There is also an indication in the workflow list at left identifying individual worksections where the work done now differs from the Masterspec master section.









Once you open a worksection with changes you will notice two options top right of the centre panel, either "View Changes" or "Update manager". 







VIEW CHANGES

When you select "View Changes" the system displays two tabs in a seperate window. The first tab shows you the new Masterspec worksection compared with the old worksection. 

A yellow highlight is an inclusion, the red highlight is a deletion.










The second tab displays the current state of your section compared with the current updated Masterspec section – any edits you have made will show up here as changes.
















RUNNING THE UPDATE MANAGER 

When you run the update manager the screen compares your specification section on the left with the latest Masterspec section side by side.


A. To the far left a ‘Quick View’ navigation panel helps you identify and navigate directly to the changes - clicking on any colour band will take you directly to that change.

B. Between the two versions of the worksection are a number of buttons denoting status or actions to take, and to the far right is C. the KEY explaining the mark-up code and the actions available. There are a number of other special Action buttons such as View or Toggle – you can experiment with their function following the guidance shown.

When we see ‘IDENTICAL’ the work sections are exact word for word and numbered correctly. There is nothing to do here.

D. Clauses with an ORANGE OVERWRITE button means your sections are different from Masterspec’s updated section. Read through the highlighted differences and choose to overwrite or not.

E. Text highlighted in RED has been deleted from the Masterspec master worksection however you’ll often find YELLOW text replacing it - this can be copy added by Masterspec or it can be  information you removed during the Q&A process. Take care if reinserting these sections, you might also need to complete areas within marked with new tildes once you have finished with the Update Manager.

F. When Masterspec has added a new clause into the worksection it is highlighted in yellow - to add it to your specification use the "INSERT CLAUSE" button. 

When you have finished updating your worksection return to your specification edting by selecting the "Back to Specification Editor Page" link top centre of the Update manager. Remember to check for any new tildes in your specification worksection denoting areas you must edit.





LOSING THE 'UPDATES AVAILABLE' PROMPT
​Sometimes after running the Update Manager when you return to your section the system still prompts you that Updates are available. To lose this from your screen:




1.
Press the "Set to Complete" button










2.
The system will warn you that there may be tildes not yet addressed or further work to do. Select "OK"

 








3
. The system will display the "Work section Complete" sign.

 





4
. Select 'Edit' and continue working on your section. As soon as you manually Save or the system saves your first edit the section will revert to "Set to Complete?". The Updates warning will no longer appear.
  »NEW FEATURES IN NEXTGEN2
  »NEXTGEN2'S NEW DOCUMENT CONTROL_AUDIT FORM
  »NEXTGEN2 - CREATING AND MANAGING YOUR APPENDIX
  »NEXTGEN2 - USING THE CONTACT SUPPLIER FUNCTION
  »COPYING AND PASTING TABLES FROM WORD TO NEXTGEN2
  »NEXTGEN2 NOW COMES WITH EDITOR NOTES
  »NEXTGEN2 - COMPLETING YOUR SPECIFICATION NEW
  »UPDATING YOUR SPECIFICATION IN NEXTGEN2
  »SCHEDULING IS HERE!
  »SCHEDULING - UPDATING OFFICE MASTERS
  »CREATE A NEW OFFICE MASTER BY CLONING AN EXISTING SPECIFICATION
© 2017 Construction Information Limited
Construction Information Limited Construction Information
Powered by streamSWEET CMS  
Feedback